The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

Maude Julien
Our Price:  £3.99
List Price:  £14.99
Saving Of:  73%

Availability:  

  

In stock

Author:  Maude Julien
Condition:  New
Format:  Hardback
Pages:  288
Publisher:  Oneworld Publications
Year:  2018
ISBN:  9781786071354

For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Maude still remembers the sound of the gate being locked behind her. She was three years old when they moved into the secluded manor and in the coming years, she would only be allowed out a handful of times.

Her parents belonged to a fanatical Masonic order. She followed a strict schedule of study, hard labour and endless drills designed to 'eliminate weakness', such as holding an electric fence without flinching and sitting in a rat-infested cellar.

But despite their chilling psychological control, her parents could not control her inner life. Befriending animals on the lonely estate and characters in the books she read, Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love her parents forbade.