Agatha: The International Bestseller

Agatha: The International Bestseller

Anne Cathrine Bomann
Our Price:  £5.99
List Price:  £9.99
Saving Of:  40%

Availability:  

  

In stock

Author:  Anne Cathrine Bomann
Condition:  New
Format:  Hardback
Pages:  160
Publisher:  Hodder & Stoughton
Year:  2019
ISBN:  9781529361377

Set in 1940s Paris, this bittersweet, international bestseller is the perfect novel for fans of A Man Called Ove, My Name is Lucy Barton and The Guest Cat

A psychiatrist is counting down towards his upcoming retirement. He lives alone in his childhood home and has neither friends nor family.

Often, he resorts to drawing bird caricatures of his patients instead of taking notes. His social life consists of brief conversations with his meticulous secretary Madame Surrugue, who has reigned over the clinic for more than thirty years. The two of them have no relationship outside the office, where everything runs smoothly and uneventfully.

Until one day, that is, when a young German woman called Agatha arrives and demands to see the doctor and he soon realizes that underneath her fragile exterior is a strong and fascinating woman. The doctor and Agatha embark upon a course of therapy together, a process that forces the doctor to confront his fear of true intimacy outside the clinic. But is it too late to reconsider your existence as a 71-year-old?

'A shrewd, skilful tale of loneliness, the search for meaning and a place in the world, and the problems of truly relating to another human being.' Independent