By Any Other Name: A Cultural History of the Rose

By Any Other Name: A Cultural History of the Rose

Simon Morley
Our Price:  £8.99
List Price:  £25.00
Saving Of:  64%

Availability:  

  

In stock

Author:  Simon Morley
Condition:  New
Format:  Hardback
Pages:  304
Publisher:  Oneworld Publications
Year:  2021
ISBN:  9780861540525

'Fascinating...I'll never look at a rose in quite the same way again.' Adrian Tinniswood

The rose is bursting with meaning. Over the centuries it has come to represent love and sensuality, deceit, death and the mystical unknown. Today the rose enjoys unrivalled popularity across the globe, ever present at life's seminal moments.

Grown in the Middle East two thousand years ago for its pleasing scent and medicinal properties, it has become one of the most adored flowers across cultures, no longer selected by nature, but by us. The rose is well-versed at enchanting human hearts. From Shakespeare's sonnets to Bulgaria's Rose Valley to the thriving rose trade in Africa and the Far East, via museums, high fashion, Victorian England and Belle Epoque France, we meet an astonishing array of species and hybrids of remarkably different provenance.

This is the story of a hardy, thorny flower and how, by beauty and charm, it came to seduce the world.

You may also like
By Any Other Name: the perfect heartwarming, New York-set, enemies to lovers romcom
Lauren Kate
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

From No.1 New York Times bestselling author Lauren Kate comes an enemies-to-lovers romance about an editor, her bestselling author and one life-changing secret. A charming and fun, New York City-set romcom - perfect for fans of Emily Henry and Kate Clayborn.


A Cultural History of Marriage in the Age of Enlightenment
Condition: New
£75.00   £9.99

Could an institution as sacred and traditional as marriage undergo a revolution? Some people living during the so-called Age of Enlightenment thought so. By marrying for that selfish, personal emotion of love rather than to serve religious or family interests, to serve political demands or the demands ...


Culture and Power: A History of Cultural Studies
Mark Gibson
Condition: New
£16.99   £2.69

Focuses on power to shape a history of Cultural Studies. An analysis of the nature and purpose of Cultural Studies, this book assesses the development of the discipline from the work of Michel Foucault in post-war France and the Birmingham Centre for Cultural Studies in the 1970s to the expansion of the field in the United States.