Biographies & Memoirs

Page 1 of 21:    409 Items

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9
Show All Products
Rodolphe Bresdin: The Incorrigible Bohemian
Trevor Dance
Condition: New
£29.99   £17.95

First English Language monograph on this distinguished French artist.


Steve Jobs: A Biographic Portrait
Kevin Lynch
Condition: New
£20.00   £9.99

A comprehensive study of 'The Maverick' and his work, Steve Jobs tracks the entrepreneur's journey from savvy salesman to world-changing innovator.


Sylvia Pankhurst: Suffragette, Socialist and Scourge of Empire
Katherine Connelly
Condition: New
£4.99

Lively and accessible biography of Sylvia Pankhurst, from suffragette to anti-Fascist activist.


Churchill And Orwell: The Fight for Freedom
Thomas Ricks
Condition: New
£20.37   £5.99

"A dual biography of Winston Churchill and George Orwell, whose farsighted vision and inspired action preserved democracy from the threats of authoritarianism from the left and right alike"--Amazon.com.


Extreme Metaphors
J. G. Ballard
Condition: New
£12.99   £4.99

A startling and at times unsettlingly prescient collection of J. G. Ballard's greatest interviews.


How to Be Famous
Caitlin Moran
Condition: New
£8.99   £3.99

A Library Journal Best Book of 2018 Johanna Morrigan (aka Dolly Wilde) has it all: she is nineteen, lives in her own flat in London, and writes for the coolest music magazine in Britain. Her star is rising, just not quickly enough for her liking. Then John Kite, Johanna’s unrequited love, has an album ...


I've Seen the Future and I'm Not Going
Peter McGough
Condition: New
£21.79   £5.99

"Peter McGough--half of the team of McDermott & McGough, artists known for their painting, photography, sculpture and film--writes about the trauma of growing up gay in 1950s suburbia; about the East Village art scene of the 1980s when he knew Keith Haring, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Andy Warhol, Jeff Koons ...


Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know
Colm Toibin
Condition: New
£20.15   £4.99

From Colm Tóibín, the formidable award-winning author of The Master and Brooklyn, an illuminating, intimate study of Irish culture, history, and literature told through the lives and work of three men—William Wilde, John Butler Yeats, and John Stanislaus Joyce—and the complicated, influential relationships ...


The Actual One
Isy Suttie
Condition: New
£8.99   £3.99

A hilarious, razor-sharp debut memoir about the moment when you realize that your friends have all grown up and left you behind, for readers of Caitlin Moran’s How To Be A Woman, Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, and Kelly Williams Brown’s Adulting. Isy Suttie wakes up one day ...


Time Song
Julia Blackburn
Condition: New
£20.34   £4.99

From the award-winning author of the memoir The Three of Us, a lyrical exploration--part travelogue and part history--of Doggerland, the area beneath the North Sea which, until 6,000 years ago, was home to a rich ecosystem and human settlement. Shortly after her husband's death, Julia Blackburn became ...


Boys of Summer
Kahn, R
Condition: New
£9.75   £6.79

"A moving elegy . . . [to] the best team the majors ever saw . . . the Brooklyn Dodgers of the 1950s." --New York Times The classic narrative of growing up within shouting distance of Ebbets Field, covering the Jackie Robinson Dodgers, and what’s happened to everybody since. This is a book about young ...


How to Fail
Elizabeth Day
Condition: New
£12.99   £2.30

Paul: A Biography
Tom Wright
Condition: New
£19.99   £8.45

A historical biography, which will appeal to believer and non-believer alike, of the life and thought of St Paul.


Six Weeks of Blenheim Summer: An RAF Pilot's Memoir of the Second World War
Alastair Dyson Panton
Condition: New
£16.99   £10.45

An utterly unique portrait of one man and his Blenheim. A must read.


The Dun Cow Rib: A Very Natural Childhood
John Lister-Kaye
Condition: Used, Like New
£20.00   £4.99

A fascinating and powerful memoir from one of the founding fathers of nature writing and one of Britain's best-known naturalists and conservationists


Trip: Andy Warhol's Plastic fantastic Cross-Country Adventur
Deborah Davis
Condition: New
£19.67   £5.99

From the author of Strapless and Guest of Honor, a book about a little-known road trip Andy Warhol took from New York to LA in 1963, and how that journey—and the numerous artists and celebrities he encountered—profoundly influenced his life and art. In 1963, up-and-coming artist Andy Warhol took ...


True Colours: The Story of the First Openly Transgender Officer in the British Armed Forces
Caroline Paige
Condition: New
£5.99

This is a unique and inspirational memoir that reveals the triumphs and tribulations that shaped Paige's life, from her birth and childhood struggles with gender identity through to her 35-year military career.


A Still Life: A Memoir
Josie George
Condition: New
£16.99   £9.99

'A manifesto for recalibrating' DAILY MAIL
'I can't think of many books where the reader feels so passionately on the side of the narrator' Guardian
'Full of kindness, A Still Life will make you a better person' CLARE MACKINTOSH

AN EVENING STANDARD BOOK OF 2021
LONGLISTED FOR THE BARBELLION PRIZE 2021

Josie ...


Alain Badiou: A Critical Introduction
Jason Barker
Condition: New
£26.99   £7.99

A clear and concise introduction to the political philosophy of Alain Badiou, centred in a political context


The Dun Cow Rib: A Very Natural Childhood
John Lister-Kaye
Condition: New
£9.99   £5.99

The story of a boy's adventures in the wonders of the natural world, from one of Britain's best-known naturalists and conservationists

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9
Show All Products

Page 1 of 21:    409 Items