Biographies & Memoirs

Page 4 of 30:    590 Items

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9
Letters of Sylvia Plath Volume II: 1956 - 1963
Sylvia Plath
Condition: Used, Very Good
£35.00   £10.99

Sylvia Plath (1932-1963) was one of the writers that defined the course of twentieth-century poetry. Alongside a selection of photographs and Plath's own drawings, they masterfully contextualise what the pages disclose.

This later correspondence witnesses Plath and Hughes becoming major, influential contemporary writers, as it happened.


Halfway to Venus: A One-Armed Journey
Sarah Anderson
Condition: New
£12.99   £8.45

This book is about Sarah Anderson's life with one arm. It is also about other people who have lost their arms, about phantom and prosthetic limbs, about what hands and arms mean in different cultures and how they are portrayed in art and literature. Life with one arm is different in many subtle ways ...


George Sand
Martine Reid
Condition: New
£24.95   £5.99

A biography of the celebrated nineteenth-century author George Sand. Examines her public image, her relationships with her husband, lovers, and children, and her lifelong political commitment.


Desert Flower
Waris Dirie
Condition: New
£8.99   £4.99

* Inspirational, dramatic and extraordinary - the autobiography of a Somalian nomad circumcised at 5, sold in marriage at 13, who became an American model and is now at the young age of 30, the UN spokeswoman against circumcision


Princess Spider: True Experiences of a Dominatrix
Princess Spider
Condition: Used, Like New
£7.99   £2.25

Princess Spider is the best-known Female Dominatrix in the UK fetish scene, and a Sky TV television personality. In this book, she offers unrestricted and unprecedented access to her fascinating, shocking, and very bizarre world.


Eating Pomegranates: A Memoir of Mothers, Daughters and Genes
Sarah Gabriel
Condition: New
£8.99   £3.75

After a troubled upbringing that saw the early death of her mother from cancer, Sarah Gabriel had created a happy home life with her partner and two beautiful daughters.


Arabesques
Robert Dessaix
Condition: New
£9.99

An extraordinary travel memoir by one of Australia's finest writers


A Very Dangerous Woman: The Lives, Loves and Lies of Russia's Most Seductive Spy
Jeremy Dronfield, Deborah McDonald
Condition: Used, Very Good
£9.99   £2.75

A story of passion, espionage and double crossing that encircled the globe and saw a woman born to indulgence and selfishness sacrifice everything for love - only to be betrayed


Dancing to the Precipice: The Life of Lucie de la Tour du Pin, Eyewitness to an Era
Caroline Moorhead
Condition: Used, Very Good
£13.43   £3.75

Her canvases were the court of Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette; the Great Terror; America at the time of Washington and Jefferson; Paris under the Directoire and then under Napoleon; Regency London; the battle of Waterloo; and, for the last years of her life, the Italian ducal courts. She witnessed firsthand ...


Talking to Women
Nell Dunn
Condition: Used, Like New
£10.99   £6.99

In 1964, Nell Dunn spoke to nine of her friends over a bottle of wine about men, sex, work, money, babies, freedom and love. After more than forty years out of print, Talking to Women is still as sparkling, honest, profound, funny and wise as when it was first published.


Am I Ugly?
Michelle Elman
Condition: New
£14.99   £9.99

A memoir about a woman's journey to body positivity.


In Black and White: A Young Barrister's Story of Race and Class in a Broken Justice System
Alexandra Wilson
Condition: New
£8.99   £4.95

Alexandra Wilson, a young mixed-race barrister, provides a compelling insight into the systemic racism in our legal system.


In God's Hands: The Spiritual Diaries of Pope St John Paul II
Pope St John Paul, II
Condition: Used, Like New
£25.00   £14.99

Since his early years as a priest in the 1960s, up until 2003, Pope St John Paul II kept a spiritual diary. These diaries provide an intimate insight into the longest-serving pontiff of our time.


Ordinary Dogs
Eileen Battersby
Condition: New
£14.99   £3.99

The dogs became her most loyal companions for over twenty years, witnesses to an often difficult human life and more important to her than most other humans.

This book is about two animals with personalities, emotions and prejudices.


Ordinary Dogs
Eileen Battersby
Condition: Used, Like New
£14.99   £2.99

The dogs became her most loyal companions for over twenty years, witnesses to an often difficult human life and more important to her than most other humans.

This book is about two animals with personalities, emotions and prejudices.


The Dancing Healers
Carl Hammerschlag
Condition: Used, Like New
£11.99   £6.99

Interweaving autobiography with stories of Native Americans he treated and learned from, a Yale-trained psychiatrist explains how exposure to Native American practices and world-view challenged and broadened his medical school assumptions about healing.


The Lady from Arezzo: My Musical Life and Other Matters
Alfred Brendel
Condition: New
£14.99   £4.99

The title of this collection of essays refers to a tailor's mannequin that Alfred Brendel spotted in a shop window in Arezzo, a small Tuscan town. And so, in his delightful new collection, great masters of nonsense meet great masters of music.


The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir
Maude Julien
Condition: Used, Like New
£14.99   £3.45

For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.


A Spy Called Cynthia: And a Life in Intelligence: 2021
Anonymous Anonymous
Condition: New
£12.99   £3.99

"Ashamed? Not in the least, my superiors told me that the results of my work saved thousands of British and American lives. It involved me in situations from which 'respectable' women draw back - but mine was total commitment. Wars are not won by respectable methods." Amy Elizabeth Thorpe, codenamed 'Cynthia'


Ernest Bevin: Labour's Churchill
Andrew Adonis
Condition: New
£9.99   £5.99

The paperback edition of the best-selling political biography.

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9

Page 4 of 30:    590 Items