Biographies & Memoirs

Page 1 of 33:    657 Items

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9
Diaries
George Orwell
Condition: New
£20.00   £10.95

George Orwell was an inveterate keeper of diaries. Covering the period 1931-1949, this volume follows Orwell from his early years as a writer up to his last literary notebook.


Stet: an Editor's Life
Diana Athill
Condition: New
£6.99   £3.95

Diana Athill's memoir of a life spent working with some of the charismatic characters who have dominated 20th-century literature. With inimitable wit and rare candour, she recounts tales from a long life in publishing, including reflections on editing writers such as Jean Rhys and Gitta Sereny.


Ban This Filth!: Letters From the Mary Whitehouse Archive
Ben Thompson
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

Caricatured while she lived as a figure of middle-brow reaction, Mary Whitehouse was held in contempt by the country's intellectual elite. But were some of the dangers she warned of more real than they imagined? The author's selection of material from her extraordinary archive shows Mary Whitehouse's legacy in a new light.


John Keats
Stephen Hebron
Condition: New
£10.95   £5.99

Stephen Hebron traces Keats' life and development as a poet, assessing his work in the context of the contemporary social and literary scene. Keats died at an early age, leaving what have become some of the best-known English poems, such as "Ode to a Nightingale".


Bruce Lee - The Authorised Visual History
Steve Kerridge
Condition: New
£19.99

Bruce Lee was instrumental in the global popularity of martial arts, and he is still the most famous martial artist in the world, some 40 years after his death in 1973. He appears in video games, he has ranges of branded clothing and other goods, and his movies are constantly being re-issued to audiences ...


Can You Tolerate This?
Ashleigh Young
Condition: New
£14.99   £4.99

SHORTLISTED FOR THE RATHBONES FOLIO PRIZE 2019

'Beautiful, unusual and memorable ... I love this book' - Maggie Nelson, author of THE ARGONAUTS

'Smart, funny, insightful and unexpected ... perfect summer reading' - Jon McGregor, Guardian Summer Reading

In Can You Tolerate This? - the title comes from ...


The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir
Maude Julien
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.


Gentleman Jack: A biography of Anne Lister, Regency Landowner, Seducer and Secret Diarist
Angela Steidele
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

The extraordinary life of history's first modern lesbian who inspired the television series Gentleman Jack.


Murder on File: The World's Most Notorious Killers
Richard Whittington-Egan, Molly Whittington-Egan
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

This gruesome guide details over 100 of the world's most infamous murderers and their associated crimes.
In easy to understand format, each subject is comprehensively detailed under the headings: name (and alias if any), victims, locus, dates of crimes, means, motive and lastly crime watch which graphically ...


Warhol
Blake Gopnik
Condition: New
£36.55   £12.99

"Art critic Blake Gopnik takes on Andy Warhol in all his depth and dimensions. 'The meanings of his art depend on the way he lived and who he was,' as Gopnik writes. 'That's why the details of his biography matter more than for almost any cultural figure,' from his working-class Pittsburgh upbringing ...


John Lehmann: A Pagan Adventure
Adrian Wright
Condition: Used, Very Good
£6.99

John Lehmann (1907-1987) was, for 50 years, at the centre of literary life in England. In this biography, his professional and private lives are brought together and re-evaluated.


John Rylands of Manchester
D.A. Farnie
Condition: Used, Like New
£7.50

The Many Landfalls of John Cabot
Peter Pope
Condition: Used, Very Good
£12.99

Pope contrasts what we know about Cabot with what we think we know, and shows how the invention of various traditions has shaped debates about his landing in North America.


Travelling Gent: The Life of Alexander Kinglake (1809-1891)
Gerald de Gaury
Condition: Used, Very Good
£25.99

Brief Lives: Virginia Woolf
Elizabeth Wright
Condition: New
£7.99   £3.99

Well known for her novels To The Lighthouse, Mrs. Dalloway, and the feminist work A Room of One’s Own, Virginia Woolf led an intriguing and often difficult life that is fascinatingly portrayed in this new biography from Woolf scholar David Bradshaw. The author looks at Woolf’s work in the light of ...


From the Mill to Monte Carlo: The Working-Class Englishman Who Beat the Monaco Casino and Changed Gambling Forever
Anne Fletcher
Condition: New
£20.00   £6.99

The only Monte Carlo gambler to devise an infallible and completely legal system to break the bank.


Vast Alchemies: The Life and Work of Mervyn Peake
G. Peter Winnington
Condition: New
£18.95   £10.99

The unforgettable novels of Mervyn Peake (1911-1968), Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone, have proved enduringly popular, remaining continuously in print for over thirty years, and the BBC has now produced a major television adaptation of the books. Vast Alchemies explores the life and extraordinary ...


Redeeming Features: A Memoir
Nicky Haslam
Condition: New
£9.99   £3.99

Nicky Haslam has always been at the centre of things wherever he is - at parties, opening nights, royal weddings - and has stories to tell of crossing paths, and more, with the cultural icons of our time: Cecil Beaton, Francis Bacon, Diana Cooper, Lucian Freud, David Hockney, Andy Warhol, Jack Kennedy and Marilyn Monroe to name but a few.


Constructing a Nervous System: A Memoir
Margo Jefferson
Condition: New
£9.99   £4.99

The Pulitzer Prize-winning critic and acclaimed author of Negroland boldly and brilliantly fuses cultural analysis and memoir to probe race, class, family and art.


Lady Sings the Blues
Billie Holiday
Condition: New
£9.99   £4.99

Lady Sings the Blues is the inimitable autobiography of one of the greatest icons of the twentieth century. Born to a single mother in 1915 Baltimore, Billie Holiday had her first run-in with the law at aged 13. But Billie Holiday is no victim. Her memoir tells the story of her life spent in jazz, smoky ...

1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9

Page 1 of 33:    657 Items