Droll Stories: Selected Tales: Selected Tales

Droll Stories: Selected Tales: Selected Tales

Honore de Balzac
Our Price:  £1.99
List Price:  £4.35
Saving Of:  54%

Availability:  

  

In stock

Author:  Honore de Balzac
Condition:  Used, Very Good
Format:  Paperback
Pages:  240
Publisher:  Dover Publications Inc.
Year:  2019
ISBN:  9780486826677

Condition notes:
There is a faint crease to the front cover; the book is otherwise new and unread.

These choice selections from Honoré de Balzac's Droll Stories offer a lively and lusty portrait of sixteenth-century French life and manners. Told in the tradition of Boccaccio, Chaucer, and Rabelais, they allegedly originated in manuscripts from the abbeys of Touraine. Originally published in three sets of ten tales in the 1830s, the stories abound in episodes of good-humored licentiousness that scandalized Balzac's contemporaries and continue to delight modern readers. French novelist and playwright Honoré de Balzac (1799–1850) was a founder of realism in European literature. An inspiration to Proust, Dickens, Faulkner, Dostoyevsky, and countless others, Balzac wrote works that were hailed for their multifaceted characters and exquisite attention to detail. This edition's excellent translation was the first to make his Contes Drolatiques available to English-speaking readers.